Dear Atenean, this is why you’re not getting hired

684e8975db0f4c77400fa3ed2f5d7020--neon-signs-quotes-neon-signs-tumblr

Like the rest of the free world and their mothers, I came across that ADMU Rantbox post (click the link to read it in full) and couldn’t believe what I was reading. The entitlement. The arrogance. The sheer wtf-ery. You have to see it to believe it.

Basically, the gist of that kid’s post is as follows: the anonymous fresh graduate is upset that Ateneo graduates aren’t “getting snapped up like lechon at a fiesta”, how he and his friends did their college experience right by having lots of extra-curriculars balanced with good grades, how they graduated with Latin honors, and how companies at job fairs were supposedly “begging” for Atenean applicants. He then continues to rant about how, despite all this, he hasn’t been able to land a decent job, and then punctuates his disbelief with a condescending dismissal of BPO jobs (“I don’t wanna work for some BPO though I’m so tempted already,” and, “My only comfort is a lot of other people have to make concessions too. How many SOM grads are in Accenture. Good luck to us, struggling smart people who realized we aren’t that smart in the outside world.”)

Look, kid, I get it. I really, really do. I, too, graduated from a “Big 4” university. I experienced firsthand what it’s like to go to job interview after job interview only to be rejected in the end. I remember crying twice because I was rejected from two positions that I wanted really, really badly (and – quelle freakin’ surprise, one of them was for a BPO!). I’m no rich kid either. I’ve got my own mouths to feed. I come from a single-parent household, so I wanted to relieve my mother of the burden of supporting me as soon as I could. The struggle of being unemployed and trying to find work after four to five years of worrying about nothing but grades, orgs, and friends is enough to make even the strongest, most practical-minded millennial down.

But – and here’s the kicker – the difference between you and me, my dude, is attitude. As Kendrick Lamar said, “Bitch, be humble.” Despite what school we went to – whether it’s UP, Ateneo, UST, La Salle, or some other school – at the end of the day, we all of us have abso-fricking-lutely nothing to offer companies. We could be cum laude graduates, presidents of student councils, editors of school papers, campus figures, representatives and delegates for international scholarly conferences. It doesn’t matter. Not a single fresh graduate has anything to offer a company that one of its employees cannot already do.

Does this mean you should let a company walk all over you when trying to find work? No, of course not. You have to know your worth; but at the same time, you have to temper that worth with the fact that you have absolutely no experience. First jobs are always, always a learning curve. Don’t ever think that you already know it all, that you already deserve it all. There’s always room for improvement. There’s almost no job that you’re too good for. Your boss wants you to photocopy something? Do it. Your boss needs coffee for a meeting? Better learn how to use a percolator. Minutes of the meeting? Bust out that pen and paper.

You wanted to know how to be hireable? Ditch the sense of entitlement and maybe you’ll find out. You’re furious with your friends who won’t share the “secret” to getting hired? I’ll tell you what their secret is. They don’t think they deserve jobs by sheer dint of having graduated from Ateneo. They know they have to hustle.

The one thing I’ve learned in my four years of being part of the working force is that in the real world, your school means nothing. Employers don’t care what school you graduated from. College means nothing. It’s tough to hear, yes, but you have to accept it. What, those four to five years of struggling through what feels like literal hell on earth meant nothing? The tuition fees your parents paid meant nothing? Yes, nothing. College gives you a leg-up, nothing more. The name of your school might get you through the door, but a job offer? That’s all on you. That’s all on your attitude; on your humility, which this Atenean definitely seems to lack.

And by the way, Mr. I’m-Too-Good-For-A-BPO. Let me just say that I’m currently well on the path to my dream career, including getting a master’s degree. You know what put me on this path? That’s right, a BPO. My first job ever was doing back-end processing for a multinational company (oh, didn’t you want to work for a multinational company?), and I can definitely say that the lessons I learned with them help me land my current job.

Check the entitlement, friend. Then, maybe, you’ll get hired.

40 thoughts on “Dear Atenean, this is why you’re not getting hired

  1. Clap clap! Hay nakakaloka yung mga tao na hanggang ngayon mababa ang tingin sa call center agents or mga nagwowork sa BPO. Kaya ayan ang sinasabi ko sa agents ko, hindi totoo na kapag nasa call center ka, sasagot ka lang ng tawag. Yung trabaho natin ginagamitan ng utak kaya be proud na nasa gantong industry tayo. The smartest people I know work in the BPO industry. Subukan nya magapply sa BPO para makita nya kung tatagal sya. Haha! E if you’re a lechon pala, tara kagatin kita :p Uy apir, parehas tayong sa showbiz nagtatrabaho. Lol.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Sobrang laki ng galit ko sa mga tao na ang baba ng tingin nila sa BPOs! Di ako sa BPO ngayon pero tbh the reason why I got my current job – which is sobrang on the way talaga to my dream career – because relevant yung skills na natutunan ko sa BPO, and those skills were something that none of the other applicants had. Sobrang grateful ako for my time with them kasi I’m so happy at my current job and di ko to makukuha if not for yung work experience ko with a BPO!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Buti ka pa nakaka-tawa ka pa! Sobrang inis na inis ako kasi like, dude, mejo pangit na nga reputasyon ng millennials (because of slow-thinking and closed-minded baby boomers / Gen X-ers, admittedly), then you go off and add fuel to the fire by posting shit like this. Ugh.

      Like

      1. Natatawa ako kasi ngayon lang ako nakabasa na ang isang Atenean ay hindi makahanap ng trabaho dahil nung panahon namin (ang tanda ko na), University is everything at pag sinabing galing ka sa Big 4, ikaw ang hahabulin ng mga kumpanya ha ha ha, times have changed 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I think it’s a matter of saturated market nowadays? Parang nowadays college education has become more important, so more and more people are enrolling, so there are more and more graduates from the Big 4 universities. So now school doesn’t matter so much anymore, but rather diskarte?

        Hindi ko na itatanong ano age mo hahaha!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Siguro nga….deep inside anlakas ng aking evil laugh dahil finally nararananasan na rin nila yung mga naranasan naming anakpawis #lintiklangangwalangganti #bukasluluhoddinangmgatala

        WAHAHA

        Liked by 1 person

  2. aside from the basic curriculum, what’s important rin kasi is the knowledge we gain from the experiences outside the classroom. naexperience ko mag callcenter, ang hirap pero hindi siya dapat ikahiya. well based sa nabasa ko, ego niya ang reason bakit di siya nahihire. lol the struggle is real talaga sa paghahanap ng work pero yun nga yung challenge di ba? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So much for Ateneans being stereotyped as conyos and ingleseros — this dude couldn’t even use proper punctuation in his post. I mean, surely nobody would employ him if that’s also,, HOWhe writes his RESUME???

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Nahiya naman ako sakanya kasi fresh graduate ako and I’m currently seeking for my first job at hindi na ako choosy sa mga company na inaapplyan ko kasi ang sakit mareject ng ilang beses 😅 narealize ko na back to zero pala ulit pagkagraduate, kaya pantay pantay lang tayo kahit sobrang taas ng tingin mo sa sarili mo at kahit ano pa ang school natin 😁

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes, exactly! Good for you though that you seem to already have internalized that lesson. It will still be difficult to look for a job (lahat tayo dadaan diyan, rite of passage yan hahaha) but that humble attitude and willingness to learn will greatly help. Good luck with your job hunt!

      Like

  5. I’m shocked. Didn’t know Ateneo has such ranting feed as this one. Anyway, coming from a recruiter’s perspective, he/she definitely did not nail the job because of her attitude. First time I heard that a fresh graduate is being picky. Lahat ng applikante kong ganyan, binabagsak ko na kaagad lalo na yung galing sa mga school na akala mo ang tataas na akala mo kung sino sila.

    Ang daming ganyan na fresh grad from that school na na-interview ko, asking package nila is 20k agad. Like wtf? Dun ka nalang sa business ng magulang mo.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Tbh I didn’t even bother arguing with the offer my first job made me. I liked the hours, the work and daily tasks, the company culture, it seemed like I would learn a lot from the job, and the woman who was going to be my immediate supervisor really made a good impression on me. For me, that was all much more important than the salary. I just made sure that the offerred salary would be enough for my commute, food, phone bill, occasional travel / lakwatsa, and savings, then I accepted. One of my friends told me I should have asked for more kasi “galing ka Big 4 university”, but I ignored him. Now I’m working in a field that I find interesting and intellectually fulfilling; while he’s just working for his family’s business which isn’t related to our course at all.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Honestly I don’t f with people who put down the BPO industry. I find so much fulfillment in my job now and I can honestly say I wouldn’t have gotten it if it weren’t for the edge my experiences in a BPO gave me! And also, sobrang marketable kaya the skills you learn in a BPO – in *any* field!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m not even done reading, not even halfway through it pero I just felt the need to comment na agad kasi iritang irita ako diyan sa pagpapabebe nyan ni koya HAHAHAH okay, back to reading. ahha

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Okay, I’m done reading hahaha.

    Ang hirap kasi sa kanila ngayon feel na feel nila ang entitlement. Damang dama na karapat dapat at sila lang ang magaling Nung panahon nila mama ganyan pa, yung importante pa ang uni na pinanggalingan mo, pero now? HAHAHAHA WALA NANG GANON.

    I hate it when these kids think kung saang university ka galing is all you’ll ever need to get the job. Kakairita.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Came from a state U and minsan talaga nakakairita kapag yang mga yan nagyayabang kung asan sila. Hindi ko nilalahat pero ganun naman ata talaga ang sistema, kapag malaki ang pinuhunan mo sa buhay, ineexpect mo narin na malaki ang kikitain mo. Well in fact lahat naman ng mga pangyayari sa buhay ay dahil sa sariling pagsisikap mo, at syempre attitude! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  9. If there’s one thing I learned with my stressful-job-hunting abroad, wala ‘yan sa school o kung gaano ka katalino nung pumapasok ka pa. Nasa diskarte at skills talaga ‘yan. How you handle yourself, how you present yourself sa mga employers. Ganun. Siguro stressed lang rin talaga s’ya kasi masyadong mataas ‘yung expectations n’ya na makakakuha agad siya ng magandang trabaho kasi from ~*areneo*~ siya. Hahaha

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Hello. 🙂 I read the ADMU Rantbox entry (and your post) just now, and let me throw my two cents about this.

    Also from Ateneo here, but compared to that young entitled tenderfoot above – I took up and graduated from a course that most people see as “unprofitable.” Never had any Latin honors nor extra-curricular activities (flunked college math on the first try, and was basically a drifter for all four years of college), and never really enjoyed the college job fairs since I don’t have anything to show off to employers. Only started working on my resume and looking for a job mere days before graduation, with most applications yielding a thumbs-down, and yes – the first job I landed was a BPO. Fortunately, it was a non-voice content writing account so I managed to use what I learned in college – or at least some part of it.

    Fast-forward to now. I’m on my third job so far after five years of being a member of the working class,

    Bottom line: your diploma will get you far, but up to a certain point. The rest of the journey will depend upon what skills you have picked up while in the workforce. Yes, the job marketplace is saturated and Ateneans are a dime a dozen nowadays. But ranting in ADMU Rantbox doesn’t help either; maybe fixing a resume and persevering in job interviews (Jobstreet and JobsDB work wonders compared to Kalibrr, mind you!) can actually help a lot. The days of companies chasing after Ateneans are long gone. Nut up or shut up is the name of the game now.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

