How to Really Know Someone Pt. 4

how to know someone better pt 4
This post is part of a blog series. To see all the posts in this series, click the link How to Really Know Someone.

31. Who are the people who have influenced you?

My mom, definitely. I talk in this blog post about how she raised us as a single mom, and that really shaped my outlook on life. Many people describe me as an “alpha woman”, or say that I have a “Type A personality”. Recently, a friend told me that she loves how I “take no shit from anyone”. All that is thanks to my mom. She was tough, and rolled with the punches. So I’m tough, and I roll with the punches. Everything people tell me I am – strong, determined, hardworking, ambitious, occasionally bitchy – is because that was what my mom was like when I was growing up.

32. Which of the four cardinal virtues do you embody the most?

Confession time: I have no idea what the four cardinal virtues are, and I had to Google them to answer this question.

Now that I know what they are, I’d have to say fortitude!

33. What are some things you like about your sibling?

Nothing. HAHAHA. I’m kidding!

I have a brother and a sister. I love how we can rise above the usual pikunan and asaran (teasing and joking) that always, always happens between siblings. We get on each other’s nerves all the time but when push comes to shove, we’re there for each other!

34. Would you save an extremely talented musician who has the influence to promote good values for the world or a pregnant woman in a situation where it is certain you must choose one over the other?

That depends. If the pregnant woman was a friend or loved one, I would, of course, save her. If she was a stranger, I would save the musician.

I read an article on Spock’s assertion in Star Trek: The Wrath of Khan that “the needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few” that really encapsulates what I think of this moral dilemma. It expands more on the idea that emotion plays into the logic you would use to decide on who to save. You can find it here if you’d like to read more!

35. If you could choose the sex and physical appearance of your soon-to-be-born child, would you do it?

Probably not. It smacks way too much of eugenics.

36. What would it take someone to make you feel really fulfilled?

For the life of me, I just cannot understand this question. Fulfilled sexually? Romantically? Platonically? If anyone can enlighten me, please do so.

37. Do you daydream a lot? What do you daydream about?

I daydream about making a living wage, having a decent apartment with good plumbing and a big kitchen, being able to fill up my gas tank without wondering if I’ll be able to eat during the week, and being able to buy something without looking at the price tag.

38. If you were at a friend’s house for Thanksgiving dinner and you found a dead cockroach in the salad, what would you do?

Oh, God. I am so sorry, hypothetical friend, but if there’s one thing I cannot stand – it’s roaches. There’s almost nothing I’m afraid of. Not heights, not water, not fire, not other insects. But cockroaches? Oh, hon, no. I will scream, push myself back from the table, and flee the scene while still screaming. I’ll send you a bottle of wine or something to apologize but I am not, repeat not staying there while a roach marinates in the vinaigrette.

39. How honest are you about your thoughts and feelings (i.e. do you hide your true self from others, and in what way)?

It depends on who you ask. If you ask my friends, I’m frank and forthright. If you ask people who don’t like me, I’m tactless. One thing’s for sure though – I never shy away from speaking my mind.

40. Do you look like any celebrities?

People tell me that at a certain angle, I look like Camila Mendes wearing glasses. Do you see it? Personally, I don’t, but I’ve received that comment way too many times to ignore it.

 

Check out Part 3 here or mosey on over to Part 5 here. If you’ve done or are doing this blog series, leave me a link!

2 thoughts on “How to Really Know Someone Pt. 4

Leave a Reply

