10 Reasons to Cut Your Hair

cut ur hair

I’ve never been the type to feel attached to a certain length of hair. If I see a haircut in a magazine or on Pinterest and I think it’ll look good on me, I go ahead and get it, regardless of how short it is. My hair has gone through several different lengths in the twenty-three years I’ve been on this earth. I’ve sported waist-length mermaid locks, trendy bob cuts, and even the fearsome pixie (three times!). 

My current look is a nice shoulder-length lob:

I realize not all people feel this way. For one reason or another, there are people who are attached to their long locks. And I’m not judging! All I’m saying is, barring any cultural or religious objections to short hair, go for that cut. Here’s why:

1. Your showers will feel amazing.

I will never be able to explain the absolutely incredible feeling of shampooing and conditioning short hair. It’s like, “What? My arms aren’t tired? My fingers aren’t sore? But my hair is clean? WHAT IS THIS SORCERY?”

2. Instant “cool girl” factor.

Undeniable fact. Girls with short hair are way, way cooler. Don’t even fight me on this one.

3. It’s perfect for Philippine weather.

As we all know, March, April, and May are the “Satan’s asscrack” months this side of the Pacific. With summer temperatures soaring into the 40s and 50s, now is the perfect time to chop off those heavy, unwieldy locks.

4. You’ll save money on hair care products.

Back when I had a pixie cut, it took me more than half a year to finish off economy-sized bottles of Dove shampoo and conditioner – and this is considering I wash my hair every other day. (I know, I know, you’re not supposed to wash your hair that frequently, but you try living in the tropics where your head is a disgusting greasy mess at the end of the day and see if you can resist the burning desire for shampoo.)

5. Goodbye split ends.

Split ends are gross. They make you look sloppy and unkempt. Ever try putting your hair in a neat, professional ponytail when you’ve got split ends? That’s right, you can’t. Thankfully, getting regular trims keeps split ends at bay!

6. Short hair is every bit as versatile as long hair.

Don’t listen to anyone who tells you that you can’t do anything with short hair. With the right products and accessories, there are tons of styles that you can try out. The world is your oyster.

7. You can donate your hair!

When I first got a chin-length bob in 2012, I donated the hair to Cuts Against Cancer. Please note however that they only accept uncolored, un-rebonded, and un-permed hair. If you’d like to donate, check out their donation form here

8. Let’s be honest, the Facebook/Instagram likes are such a great ego-boost.

It’s shallow as hell, but it’s hard to argue with 100+ likes on a selfie.

9. It’s empowering.

Since time immemorial, society has associated long hair with women. Cutting your hair is turning your back on that expectation, a way of claiming femininity and/or womanhood on your own terms. Cutting your hair shows you’re confident, it shows you’re powerful. It shows you follow your own definition of beauty, and no one else’s. And that means a lot in this day and age when sexism and misogyny should no longer exist, but still does.

10. It will grow back.

If all of the above reasons haven’t yet convinced you to love a short haircut, relax and remember: hair grows back!

4 thoughts on “10 Reasons to Cut Your Hair

Leave a Reply

