How to Really Know Someone Pt. 2

how-to-know-someone-better-pt-2

This post is part of a blog series. To see all the posts in this series, click the link How to Really Know Someone.

11. If you could paint a picture of any scenery you’ve seen before, what would you paint?

Recently, I was in Iloilo for work. One night, I decided to do laps on the rooftop pool to work off the stress from a day of meetings. I was just finishing my fiftieth lap when I surfaced and saw the most magnificent sunset. The sky was a brilliant riot of orange, purple, pink, and dark blue, and everything seemed hazy and diffused and just so surreal. I didn’t want to ruin the moment by scrambling for my phone, so I just stayed in the pool, treading water and watching the view until the sun had completely receded below the horizon.

It was one of the most magnificent things I’d ever seen in my whole life, made even more so by the fact that I saw every last single moment of it with my own eyes, instead of from behind a camera.

12. In the case of prevention of overpopulation, should some people be prohibited from reproducing?

Absolutely not. This is nothing less than eugenics.

I do, however, support reproductive health initiatives so that overpopulation, as well as problems like the spread of STDs and STIs, can be avoided. The answer to overpopulation is not eugenics, but responsible family planning!

13. You discover that because of a mix-up at the hospital, your wonderful one-year-old child is not yours. Would you want to exchange the child to try to correct the mistake?

Probably not. I’m not a parent, so I can’t fully imagine what it would be like, but I think one year is enough to fall in love with a child you believe is yours. I would have already made memories, gotten to know all his or her little quirks and idiosyncrasies, and I wouldn’t be able to let that go. I imagine also that my child has gotten to know me as his or her mother, and the thought of destroying that bond is heartbreaking.

I’d probably sue the hospital though.

14. Have you ever seen a person, an animal, or something else die? How did you feel about it?

I was with one of my best friends in the hospital when her mother died. It was the most heartbreaking thing I’d ever seen.

I drove my friend and her little brother from their house to St. Luke’s Hospital in Taguig – the doctor had told the family that tita didn’t have too long, so he suggested that they try to spend as much time by her bedside as possible. When we got to the hospital, tita was surrounded by her family, hooked up to half a dozen machines that were keeping her heart beating and her lungs working. The minute my friend and her brother went to her side, she hung on for a few more minutes, just maintaining eye contact and holding their hands, and then she passed. With a jolt, I realized tita had just been waiting to see her kids one last time before she went. That memory will stay with me forever. It was just so sad.

15. What is the most drastic thing you’ve done?

Probably drop out of law school! It was tough letting go of a dream, but it got easier every time I reminded myself that it might have been a dream, but it wasn’t mine.

16. What are your favorite movies?

Nobody judge me, but I’m going to list ten because I couldn’t possibly name just one:

  • Pacific Rim (there’s a sequel coming out starring John Boyega holla at me boiii)
  • Casablanca
  • Jurassic Park
  • Jaws
  • Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan
  • Mulan
  • Atlantis: The Lost Empire
  • Cruel Intentions
  • The Addams Family
  • Hocus Pocus

17. What is your favorite body part?

I rather like the shape of my lips! I have what people call a Cupid’s bow mouth. It makes putting lipstick on really fun and easy.

18. If life is so short, why do we do so many things we don’t like and like so many things we don’t do?

Practicality, I guess? I mean, I don’t exactly want to be sitting at my desk right now. I love my job, but there’s a lot of things I love more – things I’d rather be doing. But above all these things is my desire to be able to eat and pay my bills. Hence, my job.

19. How important is music in your life?

Musical theater is a big part of my life, and if someone had encouraged me just a little bit more when I was younger, I can confidently say I would have probably tried to get into the industry. I’m also in love with the local indie scene. Filipinos are so talented, you guys!

20. How would you describe your father in four words?

Allow me to quote the great thinker Thomas Hobbes. “Poor, nasty, brutish, and short.”

If you’d like to go back and read Part 1, click here; and Part 3 can be found here! As usual, if you decide to or have done this tag, leave me a link the comments!

8 thoughts on “How to Really Know Someone Pt. 2

  1. This reminds me that I haven’t posted an update on this series on my own blog! I love reading your answers, especially the ones that we have different opinions on, like in #13. I would prefer to get my own child, yes that would really suck but I would do it. I would still get in touch with the other family tho and sue the hell out of the hospital!

    xo, Richel V.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It was one of the most magnificent things I’d ever seen in my whole life, made even more so by the fact that I saw every last single moment of it with my own eyes, instead of from behind a camera.

    Yes! I really believe the best moments in life are those that can’t be captured by a camera.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree with your number 12. To totally prohibit reproducing is unacceptable. What we can do is to educate the people, and yes, go on family planning. Number 13 is a tough question. I somewhat understand your answer but if I were on that shoes, I’ll probably get my own child.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Education is sooooo important in managing the population boom! It’s very important that comprehensive sex education including contraception, family planning, reproductive health management is included in age-appropriate curriculum. This is really the key to reducing overpopulation problems.

      Like

Leave a Reply

