5 Matte Lipsticks To Buy Instead of Kylie Jenner’s Lip Kits

5-matte-lipsticks

If any of you follow me on Twitter, you’ll see that I often tweet about my lipsticks – most often in the context of how well they stand up to what I’m eating, because I’m a glutton like that. Anyway, this led to a conversation between me and one of my sorority sisters, where we were talking about the lipsticks I tweeted about. She said she was always Googling alternatives to Kylie Jenner’s lip kits, mostly because they’re insanely expensive as fuck.

Hence, this blog entry.

Okay, disclaimer time! I am not nor will I ever be a makeup blogger. Hell, I’m barely a blogger. I just pick up makeup and wear what I think looks good, in line with my skintone, outfits, and of course my own preferences. So basically, take everything I’m saying here with a grain of salt. Just, you know, if you’d like an amateur’s take on cheap alternatives to those overrated overpriced liquid lipsticks, check this out.

1. NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream – ₱390.00

matte_nyx

NYX is my holy grail of makeup. I have yet to use a product of theirs that failed me. Everything from their eyebrow powders to their foundations to their setting sprays are the bawmb-diggity, and all of that excellence (not to mention certified cruelty-free, according to my vegan friends) comes at nearly dirt-cheap prices.

My first NYX discovery was their ever-popular Soft Matte Lip Creams. Like their name implies, they go on creamy and dry to a matte finish. The lipstick does settle in the cracks of your lips as the day goes on, but unlike most matte lipsticks these don’t feel like they’re totally moisture-sucking, plus you can deal with the cracked lips thing by layering lip balm underneath (I find EOS works really well and doesn’t destroy the matte effect). The color payoff is pretty great too, with an opacity and intensity that lasts me even through one meal. I usually have to reapply sometime in the afternoon, but the reapplication layers on well and doesn’t look messy at all.

Where to buy? There are Nyx branches in SM Megamall and SM North EDSA, and Nyx kiosks in SM Department Stores in SM Makati and SM Mall of Asia.

2. NYX Liquid Suede Cream Lipstick – ₱460

crop-1458755193-single-the_nyx_liquid_suede_cream_lipsticks_are_here_and_theyre_just_p390

Another NYX product. I’m sorry, but I did say that NYX was my holy grail of makeup.

Like SMLC, these go on creamy, but their lasting power is a lot longer. When I wear this lipstick I can have breakfast, morning coffee, a light lunch, and afternoon coffee all before I have to reapply. It takes a bit longer than the SMLC to dry, but the staying power you get after is so worth it. The pigmentation is also really intense, you get a lot of color with just one swipe. Also, when it fades, it does so in such a way that it looks like you’re wearing a lip stain, instead of having smeared lipstick, so you’re not hiding your mouth while you tiptoe to the restroom to touch up.

Where to buy? There are Nyx branches in SM Megamall and SM North EDSA, and Nyx kiosks in SM Department Stores in SM Makati and SM Mall of Asia.

3. Maybelline Color Sensational Creamy Matte Lipstick – ₱299.00

download

This line is a little weird for matte lipsticks, nothing at all like what you’d expect – but weird in a good way! For one thing, they don’t tug or pull at all on the lips, like most matte tube-type lipsticks do. Maybelline wasn’t kidding when they named this line ‘Creamy Matte’. They’re really, really creamy, and glide on really smoothly. The texture is soft and buttery, and honestly such a treat to put on. They don’t have the staying power of NYX’s lip creams, but like I said, I enjoy putting the lipstick on so much it’s no hardship at all!

Also – and this may just be me – but Maybelline’s Creamy Matte lipsticks smell really nice! They have this subtle fragrance that, unlike most makeup smells, isn’t cloying or unpleasant in anyway. And not that I’ve ever actively eaten a Creamy Matte lipstick, but you know that taste you get when you accidentally lick your lips? The taste of this lipstick is lightly sweet, kind of like EOS lip balm.

Where to buy? Watsons. Also, makeup counters in SM Department Stores.

4. L’Oreal Color Riche Star Collection Lipstick – ₱400.00

style-smarts-mr-1

Back in 2015 (I think? Like I said, I’m no makeup blogger) L’Oreal released their Star Collection of matte lipsticks, which are grouped into Pure Reds and Pure Nudes. Each lipstick is tagged to a style icon, and the tube bears this celebrity’s signature.

These lipsticks apply creamy, just like Maybelline’s Creamy Mattes, and dry to a semi-matte finish. I have to stress though that for some reason, these lipsticks are a tad difficult to apply as they smear so easily. Obviously, this isn’t a concern if you go for the Pure Nudes shades, but Pure Reds users (such as myself) might wanna watch out for bleeding or feathering. However, once the lipsticks go on, they last for a good long while, and layer on beautifully when you have to reapply. The pigmentation is also really good. You get a deep, rich color payoff with just one swipe.

Where to buy? Watsons. Also, makeup counters in SM Department Stores.

5. Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip – ₱400.00

Processed with Rookie

Of course, how can you write a blog post about Kylie Lip Kit alternatives without including Colourpop (which supposedly is made by the same lab, using the same ingredients, as the Kylie Lip Kit)! Unlike everything I’ve mentioned here so far, Colourpop’s liquid lipsticks are truly matte, in every sense of the word. They go on wet on your lips but dry to a fully matte, powdery finish that isn’t soft or smooth at all. So if you have particularly dry skin, you may want to avoid this product.

However, if cracked lips isn’t a problem for you, Colourpop’s Ultra Matte is an amazing liquid lipstick to add to your arsenal. Despite being dry, once it’s on your lips, it feels light and barely there. There’s almost no feathering or bleeding at all, and the staying power is incredible. It stayed on me all the way until nighttime, and I only had to reapply after a dinner of pasta (and lots of wine…). There was also hardly any transfer, and also it’s cruelty-free like NYX!

Where to buy? Unfortunately, these aren’t yet available locally. However, there are a ton of online shops on Instagram where you can buy Colourpop lipsticks. I got mine from ColourPopPH, but there are tons more to choose from!

So there you have it. My cheaper alternatives to Kylie Lip Kits! Does anyone have other suggestions for matte lipsticks?  

4 thoughts on “5 Matte Lipsticks To Buy Instead of Kylie Jenner’s Lip Kits

  1. I bought The Body Shop’s matte lipsticks. Only 350 if you have SM Advantage card. First time investing in lipsticks and this one didn’t disappoint 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

