Rainy Day Reading Wishlist

Rainy Day Reading Wishlist

The rainy season is here! Last night, I stayed up all night tucked into bed reading, sipping at a cup of tea, while a storm raged outside my window. Absolute heaven.

But the arrival of the June rains has reminded me that I haven’t bought new books in ages. While I haven’t yet the funds to go on the shopping spree I’d like to (#adulting woes), I thought I’d put together a list of the books I’d like to read in the coming months of cold, dark clouds, and just general wetness.

1. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

23437156

To be honest, what attracted me to this book at first was its cover. It reminded of that Australian horror movie, The Babadook (I’m a horror movie junkie as well as a bookworm). I picked it up, read the blurb, and got really interested. A crew of thieves going off to pull the heist of the century? Magic? Spies? I’m halfway there. Then I check the Goodreads reviews and find out that one of the best things about this book is that the world-building is nothing short of magnificent. And it’s the first in a series? Freakin’ sold!

2. Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray

17234659

The sequel to the A Thousand Pieces of You, Ten Thousand Skies Above You is the second book in the Firebird trilogy by Claudia Gray. (I really should write a blogpost about A Thousand Pieces of You, because I loved it!) The trilogy revolves around the Firebird, a dimension-hopping piece of technology that protagonist Marguerite Caine must use to jump through time and space in order to save her parents, as well as the love of her life. The first book got me hooked, and now I’m dying to find out what happens next

3. Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll

22609317

Following in the footsteps of female-centered noir thrillers Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, Luckiest Girl Alive is described a real page-turner with everything a good crime story should have: a pretentious girl with a glamorous lifestyle, a handsome blue-blooded fiance, intrigue, secrets, and revenge. I highly doubt any book can keep up with just how badly Gone Girl fucked me up, but I’m keeping an open mind until I can get my hands on this.

4. Girls Who Travel by Nicole Trilivas

25194152

I’m a member of the Facebook group Girls Love Travel, which is basically what it says on the tin – a travel group strictly for women! One of the fab ladies in this group, Nicole Trilivas, recently published Girls Who Travel. In this novel, Kika Shores learns how to balance her love for wandering with responsibility and adult life in general. So, we’ve got here a book with a protagonist experiencing more or less the same things I, also young, unattached, and with an insane desire to travel, am currently going through. Color me curious.

5. Landline by Rainbow Rowell

18081809

Eleanor & Park introduced me to Rainbow Rowell’s writing, and I liked it so much I thought of trying out her other stuff. Others have cautioned me against reading Fangirl, saying that it had neither the depth nor powerful emotion that Eleanor & Park did, but I’ve heard nothing but praises for Landline, so I’m going to give it a try.

BONUS:

I need to replace my copies of A Witch’s Discovery and Gone Girl because someone borrowed them and I, for the life of me, can’t remember who it was. Don’t you just hate when that happens?

7 thoughts on “Rainy Day Reading Wishlist

  1. I’ve heard so many great things about Six of Crows, I cannot wait to dive into it! And Girls Who Travel seem really good! I’m adding that to my TBR. 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

